9 questions that will help to determine if you are becoming a helicopter parent – Quiz

Answer“true” or “false” to the following statements:
1.___ I want my child to feel like I am him/her best friend.
2.___ When my child has a conflict with another child or an adult, I usually find that my child is right.
3.___ I get nervous when I’m not in constant contact with my child.
4.___ If my child were having trouble with a new seating arrangement in her/his class, I would ask the teacher to move my child to another seat.
5.___ I usually find that most of my child’s teachers’ discipline policies are not appropriate for my child’s temperament.  I often feel that my child’s teacher doesn’t understand his/her personality.
6.___ My child generally needs extra help from me or another adult with his homework because of his learning style.
7.___ I have found that my child needs to be busy, otherwise he/she gets bored or anxious when he/she has lots of free time.
8. ___ It’s difficult to find time in my personal schedule for my own activities, interests or friends because my child’s schedule is so full.
9. ___ My child is gifted in many areas, and I spend a lot of time making sure that her/his special needs are met because I know that it will be essential for his/her success in life.
Your helicopter parenting stylecould be described as:
§  Overly responsive to your child, if you answered true to Questions 1, 2, or 3.
§  Overly low demands on your child, if you answered true to Questions 4, 5, or 6.
§  Overly high and overscheduled expectations for your child, if you answered true to Questions 7, 8, or 9.

One thought on “9 questions that will help to determine if you are becoming a helicopter parent – Quiz

  1. Marina Silva

    I did the quiz, and answered yes to questions 4 and 9, and considered answer yes to question 8. I know that I am a “helicopter parent”, but who is not? I guess, the issue is to find the right balance. Parenting is not an easy job and kids are not all the same. Parenting is a work in progress.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

